Aviator weekend away, OOTDs and more!

Before having to go back to work and all the routine and normality that accompanies it, BF and I took a weekend away to end off our awesome Christmas holiday.  We had booked in to stay at the Aviator hotel in Farnborough.  It had been recommended to us as being stylish, having great food and an amazing bar.  It overlooks the airfield, and apparently Johnny Depp has stayed there in the past!  Sadly for us, the main restaurant and the sky bar that overlooks the airfield were closed, but the suite we were given went a long way to compensating!  Free movies, free soft drinks and snacks in the mini bar…a four piece bathroom with rain shower and incredible meals in the small one eleven bar that was open made for a truly relaxing and enjoyable weekend.  Anyone looking for a romantic get away, a stylish weekend or some r&r should definitely check it out http://www.aviatorbytag.com

Now I love staying in hotels, but they have to be at least four star for me to enjoy it, and I certainly enjoyed this.  The location is a bit in the middle of nowhere.  Farnborough isn’t that great a place but if you have a car you can pop to Guildford to do some shopping (which we did), and there are some lovely antique and household shops in the area like the Packhorse which goes on forever and has a cute little cafe too.

Our room had what I think was a queen sized bed, with a chaise-longue next to it.  A matching square sofa and big TV with free on demand movies meant when it rained we could sit in, munching our free snacks, drinking our free coke and watching World War Z.

The food in the bar was incredible, and it was so relaxing sitting in the lobby or a private lounge sipping wine.

central staircase

central staircase

lobby

lobby

fire in the lobby you could sit by with drinks

fire in the lobby you could sit by with drinks

lobby

lobby

grilled chicken sandwich in the one eleven bar

grilled chicken sandwich in the one eleven bar

massive bed

massive bed

chaise-longue next to bed!

chaise-longue next to bed!

suite

suite

one eleven bar

one eleven bar

In terms of outfits.  As we were shopping during the day I wanted something chic but comfy, so I opted for my favourite jeans and uggs with a Phase Eight tunic top and a knitted hat to keep me warm.

Jeans, River Island Boots, Ugg Top, Phase Eight Hat, H&M Necklace, Vivienne Westwood

Jeans, River Island
Boots, Ugg
Top, Phase Eight
Hat, H&M
Necklace, Vivienne Westwood

But for the evening, even though the main bar and restaurant were closed, I still wanted to glam it up as I love an excuse to get dressed up; but I kept it a bit funky and more ‘party’ than glam with a short skirt and black lace top, with my new pony skin shoes.  I wore glitzy earrings which I matched to a diamante belt to add a bit of sparkle.  Make up was all about the eyes, with false lashes; but I wanted to keep an element of freshness to my look so went for pink gloss on my lips which I feel always makes me look fresh.

Skirt - unknown (present) Top - Warehouse Shoes - Jessica Simpson for Kurt Geiger Belt & Earrings - unknown (gift)

Skirt – unknown (present)
Top – Warehouse
Shoes – Jessica Simpson for Kurt Geiger
Belt & Earrings – unknown (gift)

foundation - Boots No 7 beautifully matte Eyes - Boots No 7 liner and false lashes Cheeks - down boy blush by The Balm Lips - pink gloss (from a set I got for Xmas from Boots)

foundation – Boots No 7 beautifully matte
Eyes – Boots No 7 liner and false lashes
Cheeks – down boy blush by The Balm
Lips – pink gloss (from a set I got for Xmas from Boots)

Going back to work today was hard.  After such a great weekend, and having so much time to plan what I wanted to wear, how I wanted to do my hair and make up, to rushing around getting ready it has been quite a struggle.  I keep looking back at my posts and photos from over the last two weeks to try and relive the fun I’ve had over Christmas.  But it’s not the same.  I think I need to plan something nice for this weekend so I’ve got something to look forward to.

What this holiday has done though is helped me reassess my priorities.  It was great not thinking about work, doing any MBA studying, and focussing purely on relaxing and having fun.  We’ve decided that we need to go away every few months for a weekend to make sure we keep up the relaxation and doing things for ourselves before we get sucked back into a life of work, studying and doing up the house and lose sight of ourselves again.

Now time for wine x

 

Leave a Reply

