My new do!

It feels like ages since I last posted, probably because it has been ages.  I don’t know where the time has gone.  I’ve just been so busy.  I have my end of module assignment coming up for my elective for my MBA and it is pretty reading heavy so have spent many evenings pouring over articles about access to medicines as a human right and patent laws, trying to work out what my own opinion on the matter is (still not sure I have one).  I’ve also left my job.  Not in a drastic, quit and walked out way, but in a handed my notice in a few months ago to take on a new role kind of way.

I’ve been working for the past six years in University fundraising which, much as I’ve enjoyed it, isn’t exactly what I want to do.  Having been doing my MBA for the past 3.5 years and taking on different roles at work I started to realise that what I love doing is running things, keeping things organised and doing budgets!  So, as of next week I will be moving to a different department of the Uni (one of the academic areas) to work as their Finance and Operations Manager.  I’ll be heading up their finance and support functions leading three teams.  I am both excited and a bit nervous.

I have this week off to give me a rest between the two, and will no doubt be doing lots of baking and shopping to share.  I started off my ‘holiday’ by getting my hair done.  I love having my hair done – two  hours just for me!  Plus it makes me feel fresh and renewed.

I’d not been happy with my hair for a while – aside from desperately needing my roots doing to cover the grey (something I religiously get done every 8 weeks), my hair just seemed like a big thick untidy mess on my head.  It had got quite long, and never looked sleek – it was a sort of half wave half straight look and felt very heavy.  I spent ages looking at pictures of hairstyles on the internet, creating my Pinterest page of styles I liked, but in the end decided I would just talk to my hairdresser about what I didn’t like about my hair.  I was glad I did as she explained the problem was the layers weren’t the right length for the rest of the hair – I could either continue to grow them (and the hair) and wait for them to catch up, or go for the chop so my hair and layers were in much better proportion.  That way it would feel less like I had two different hair cuts, and it would sit much sleeker.  She suggested taking the weight out to make it less ‘full’, and recommended a great product Wella SP luxe oil to help keep it nice and sleek…so I went for the chop.  Quite a bit came off, but I have to say I LOVE IT!  my hair feels lighter, tidier and sits so much better.  Here are some before and after shots:

Before....

After...

 

Feeling invigorated by new hair, I decided to try a bit of a new look that evening and went for neon colours with uber heavy make up, it was fun!

hair3

Top: Zara Jeans: Miss Selfridge Earrings: Zara Shoes: Kurt Geiger/Jessica Simpson

hair4

Top: Zara Jeans: Miss Selfridge Earrings: Zara Shoes: Kurt Geiger/Jessica Simpson

hair5

Shoes: Kurt Geiger/Jessica Simpson

hair6

Earrings: Zara

 

2 thoughts on “My new do!

Leave a Reply

